Why Belgaum?

Belgaum Skyline

The one question I get asked frequently is ‘Why Belgaum’? People are surprised when I tell them I’m staying in Belgaum. They incredulously ask me why did I leave Delhi? What made you take this decision? Where is Belgaum? Why choose to live in a small city?

They just can’t seem to understand or grasp the fact that yes I’m living in Belgaum and I’m happy living here. Somehow most of the ‘Big City’ folks think a small city is not worth living in and only those people live there who can’t make it to the big city.

What a fallacy they are harbouring!

Why blame the big city folks, until a few years ago, I had a similar mindset too. I thought life was well lived only by staying at one of the big metros. How wrong was I?

A big surprise was awaiting me the day I decided to shift to Belgaum. Honestly, even I was unaware what was in store for me.

It may seem like yesterday, but it’s been 7 years and this city now feels like home.

A home that helped me define my identity, gave a big push to my career and an opportunity to reach out to others.

What I have been up to in these odd 7 years?

I opened an office with only two employees in 2015 and now we are a team of over 20 women employees. That definitely counts for something. I could have never thought I will setting up a full-fledged content writing firm in a place like Belgaum. Sometimes thinking off the track does bring unexpected yet amazing results.

Never thought a small town like Belgaum will define my identity or help me find a purpose to pursue.

So, what makes Belgaum so special?

  1. Climate: The all year around pleasant climate is something you can never get enough of. You don’t have to worry about extreme winters or of sweating it out in summers. Early mornings and evenings turn are pleasant all year round with no need of AC too.

  2. Nature’s glory: I feel blessed to live in a place where you wake up to chirping of birds rather than honking of vehicles. It is a delight for my eyes to see lush green trees, rolling hills, windmills, blooming flowers rather than peep directly into the neighbour’s apartment.

  3. Tranquility: Devoid of constant noise pollution, it feels blissful to reside amid quiet surroundings where the barking of the dogs seem the only deterrent. 

  4. Restaurants galore: Eating out or takeaways are as convenient as it is in big cities. Surprisingly, last year and this year especially during lockdown, Belgaum has seen a rise in restaurants offering all kinds of delicious delights. Within a month of landing in Belgaum in 2013, KFC opened and there has been no looking back. In these past 6 to 7 years, literally hundreds of restaurants, fast food joints including the well-known ones have cropped up. 

  5. E-commerce and Internet: Well the pandemic has surely forced us to restructure our lifestyles. We cannot go out as freely as we could. We need to stay indoors. So if we need to stay indoors how does it matter if I am in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Bangalore or Belgaum. Most of the well known e-commerce portals including Amazon, Flipkart, Myntra etc deliver to Belgaum. Internet is available round the clock and therefore whether I sit in Belgaum and watch Netflix or in a bigger city, there is no difference at all. 

  6. Popular shopping brands: All the popular shopping brands have opened their stores in Belgaum. Be it westside, pantaloons, reliance trends etc. 

  7. Sense of community: Unlike bigger cities where you feel lost and don’t even know who your neighbour, Belgaum is quite different. There is a sense of belonging and irrespective of language being a barrier because I know neither Kannada or Marathi, I have not faced a single problem. I have always come across people who are willing to help. We never thought our transition from Delhi to Belgaum would be so smooth and hassle-free. 

  8. Exciting getaways: Within an hour’s drive you can literally land in nature’s lap due to all the exciting getaways that Belgaum offers. Whether you want to try adventure sports, spot wildlife, enjoy the beautiful waterfalls or simply revel in nature’s splendour, there are many awesome places to visit within easy reach. During the monsoon season, a short drive is all it takes to visit the hills nearby and be greeted by splendid views. Few places worth mentioning are Dandeli, Amboli Ghat, Gokak Falls, Jambotti Hills, Sural Falls.

  9. Pollution and stress free: We all know how the pollution levels are increasing each year in bigger metropolitan cities and causing people to fall sick frequently. The level of stress is any day higher in the cities with people not only breathing polluted air but constantly living in a state of chaotic mess. In comparison, the slower pace in Belgaum is a blessing, as pollution is in check due to the frequent rains and the green lung that we are surrounded with. The slower pace of life ensures you remain stress-free and you always find time for your favorite hobby or to spend time with friends and family. 

  10. Drive down to Goa: The biggest draw of staying in Belgaum is that Goa is quite nearby. You don’t have to think or plan in advance to go to Goa. If Goa beckons you, simply pack your bags and get behind the wheels. All it takes is a few hours drive to reach Goa and if you want you can go to Goa in the morning and be back the same day. 

Leave a comment